navigation

The Oriental Numismatic Society is a world-wide network of those interested in Oriental coins and money (collectors, scholars, and enthusiasts).

The Society publishes the Journal of the Oriental Numismatic Society (formerly ONS Newsletter), an international journal that is released quarterly to our members worldwide.

The different regional sections of the Society hold meetings around the world at which members can meet and hear talks by collectors, scholars and enthusiasts working on a variety of numismatic topics.

Interested? Become a member – join today!

How are we doing? Take a survey and let us know.

Society Activities

2021 Annual General Meeting (AGM)

The 2021 ONS AGM will take place at 3pm UK time on Saturday, October 30, 2021. (10am in New York, 7:30pm in India). Members will receive an email with Zoom details from their regional secretary.

AGMs are business meetings where the ONS Council informs the membership about the organisation. It is here that officers and council members are elected. This year the AGM will also feature a numismatic talk.

  • Phil Slavin will speak on “What Central Asian numismatics (when combined with archaeological and textual evidence) can teach us about the ‘Fourteenth Century Crisis’ in the Mongol Empire(s)”

Upcoming Section Meetings

Lectures Online

Talks from ONS meetings are occasionally available on the ONS' YouTube channel, the Facebook pages of ONS regional sections, and the Money and Medals Network.