Ashoka Prize

The Ashoka Prize is awarded annually to the best paper published that year in the Journal, as judged by the Editorial Board. The Prize, valued at £250, is sponsored by a generous donor who wishes to remain anonymous.


The winner of the prize for 2022 is:

Aleksandr Naymark: ‘Immobilized Types in Sogdian Coinage: The case of mules between Antiochos imitations and Hycodes’ (JONS 250).

Honorable mentions go to the following:

  • Jun Li: ‘King Mindon’s Early Coinages’ (JONS 249).
  • Jonathan Ouellet: ‘An Analytical Examination of Georgian-Sasanian Coins and Their Meaning in Numismatics’ (JONS 249).
  • Paul Stevens and Robert Johnston: ‘Catalogue of the Coins of the Bengal Presidency’ (JONS 247).


The winner of the prize for 2021 is:

Nikolaus Schindel: The Beginning of Ottoman Para Coinage (JONS 245)

Honorable mentions go to the following (listed in alphabetical order by author):

  • Tyler Holman: A Group of Mauryan Punchmarked Coins, Including Mashakas (JONS 244)
  • N.R. Jenzen-Jones with J. Shanley: Pyne, McDermott and the Amir: The Advent of Machine-Minted Coinage in Afghanistan (JONS 243)
  • Seyed Omid Mohammadi and Saeed Soleimani: Countermarked Arab-Sasanian Copper Coins of Jahrom (JONS 243)


The winner of the prize for 2020 is:

J. Mark Ritchie for his ‘The Tozai Senpu Coin Rubbings and Kutsuki Masatsuna’s Vietnamese coins’, which featured in JONS 240. Our congratulations to Mark and our thanks also to the other authors whose articles were published in the Journal.